Isn’t polyamory too much work given the society’s emphasis on monogamy?

I don’t consider myself a big social revolutionary and I do poly anyway.
It’s just how I conduct my relationships.

openlypoly-protest

Jealousy, keeping score, and insecurity do not prevent having a successful
poly relationship. I’m jealous and competitive, and I’m a tad insecure at
times. But in spite of all that, I have good poly relationships.

The qualities that allow one to have a successful poly relationship are
pretty much the same as those that allow one to have a successful
monogamous relationship, imo. Jealousy, competitiveness, and insecurity
can damage either kind of relationship, or you can work around them with
caring, communication, and stubbornness. 🙂

If you think you have to be 100% “emotionally evolved” in order to have a
poly relationship, then of course you’ll feel generically incompatible
with poly. But superhuman evolution isn’t really necessary.

Leave a comment